The Secret

Today I want to talk about this book I’m currently reading, it is called The Secret and yes it is the most valuable secret you will ever uncover. I learned at a very young age that if you really want to hide something where no one will find it, put it at a simplest place for they won’t even bother looking there. The secret to transform our lives has been hidden right before our eyes for centuries and we have never found it, well until now.

The author, Rhonda Byrne, discovered the secret when she most needed it she says, a lot was not going her way and so her daughter presented her with “The Secret” which she used subsequently to transform her thinking and her circumstances miraculously changed, and then she felt this needed to be shared with more people to help them transform their lives as well, she then made The Secret the movie (which I have never seen) which was a success so it is also said and then she wrote The Secret the book which I am currently reading.

I have many times heard the saying; “when the student is ready, the teacher will appear”. I have recently lost my job, my writing career hasn’t really taken off and my music career is no different either, and then my girlfriend just fell pregnant. This is interesting, a small time author/blogger who also writes dirty rap songs that not one else (apart from his friends of course) has heard has just knocked up some young girl, truly interesting. I am not scared at all, I have this strong belief I cannot shake that something will come up before my beautiful baby gets here (assuming she takes after her mother of course), and so as I was trying to make sense of this positive feeling that I have I happened to stumble upon The Secret. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

The big secret this booked has revealed to me is very simple, it is called “The law of attraction”. Basically it says;
“Everything that’s coming into your life you are attracting into your life. And it’s attracted to you by virtue of the images you are holding in your mind”.

If we truly attract all that is happening in our lives then it means I’m also responsible for the pain, the guilt and the shame I have always felt. The relationship with opposites is that they give life to other opposites, for ‘is’ to be “is” there need to be ‘not’ to oppose “is” and vice versa. If I could attract such misery, then I can also attract its opposite, or at least that’s how I figured it.

My favorite has been The creative process. It is a 3-step process that I applied to myself as follows;

1. Ask.
Make a demand to the Universe. Let the Universe know what you want. The universe responds to your thoughts.
I want a decent job. I want a professional and dignified corporate job. I want it in a creative setting; I want it in the PR department specifically where I’ll deal with challenging client-situations that need proactive PR rescuing. I also want to be a performer by night, I want to travel across South Africa and beyond performing music, bringing happiness to all those that relate. I want to make my unborn baby proud, and I want to be her first role model.

2. Believe.
Believe that it’s already yours. Have what I love to call unwavering faith. Believing in the unseen.
Until I read this book I have always felt awkwardly childish for the things that I do. I always picture myself in music videos; create scenarios in my head being interviewed about my album. At the same time I apply for Public Relations jobs daily, and i write like I’m addicted to it (I am in fact), and if there is a cure for it, I don’t want it.

3. Receive.
Begin to feel wonderful about it. Feel the way you will feel about it once it arrives. Feel it now.
This one proves most challenging for me; I need to start generating positive energy which means my usual whining about anything that moves has to stop, but on a positive note though, that good feeling I told you about earlier on is a good place to start right? I have no doubt in my head that soon enough I’ll be everything I said I will be, and I will write about it just to remind you where it all started.

I believe this book is a necessity for everyone going through something in life, whatever it may be, anything at all. It will help you remove all negativity by just restructuring the way you think, because your thoughts create your reality.

Thank You. See you Thursday

2 comments

  1. melindafoshat · January 13, 2015

    I havent read the book but I love the film! Ever since I’ve started living by the law of attraction I’ve become a happier person! Thanks for spreading the word!

    Like

    • Sphesihle Qwabe · January 14, 2015

      I think we all have a responsibility towards this, the more people know it, the better the world will be, for all of us in fact. And for me it’s the other way around, I haven’t seen the movie, but all that is about to change, I need to see it as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

