When Things Fall Apart

We all have those times in our lives where all bad things just seem to happen at around the exact same time, your drinking habit costs you your job, your children resent you, your wife leaves you, and just when you think it can’t get any worse; your house gets repossessed as well.

At this point most people turn on you, even some of your closest friends start “feeling” like you brought this on yourself. No one enjoys suffering, so it always puzzles one in pain, how could I have caused myself to starve, get divorced, and lose custody of my kids? Still puzzles.

It is rather ironic that it is in the darkest days that a man’s vision gets the clearest; unhealthy habits, bad friends and girlfriends start to seem clear as people are often their truest form when they are no longer getting anything from you. But can you really blame them? No, you really can’t, you can’t even blame Jesus for your own failures.

I was once at my college’s finance office, I had failed to pay my fees and I was being handed a suspension letter by a cold, numb, pitiless female cashier who within seconds changed into such a lovely lady as she turned to a friend she was with to finish a story of what her boyfriend had “did” to her last night, the art of Karma Sutra.

I was raised by grandparents I was never too certain if they loved me or not, my sister almost lost her leg, my younger brother and I both got burned by paraffin stoves, my parents separated, my dad lost his job, my parents reconciled, domestic violence and alcoholism, our home got repossessed, and so I could never be really bothered by the cashier’s attitude.

I’m in a bad place once again, my hopes are shattered. I have really started 2015 on a bad note, I have really tried to remain positive in this one month and a couple of days, but I have been really tried and tested on my faith.

Do I give up now? No, not now, not ever. I have dreamed, wished and hoped, so I won’t give in at this point. I go to bed broken, but I smile each morning I wake up because I know it’s an opportunity for me to add another brick to my castle, Rome wasn’t built in one day. I am here because I’ve made some bad choices in my life, the very same logic applies with my future, if I start making good ones today, in 10 to 15 years from now I’ll look back and thank myself.

When all other things fall apart,
Strong people remain intact.

2 comments

  1. shakeclouds · February 5, 2015

    nice post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

