Conversations With Lucy #01

“When a student is ready the teacher shall appear” and “Everything happens for a reason” repeated simultaneously on my mind. I kept thinking that one must embrace his fate with no questions asked, for the answers often lie on the expedition.

As I sat on a chair opposite an devastatingly attractive white lady in her mid-20s, with a super model body, beautiful breasts, slim waist and thighs to die for, if I was not dead already. I avoided all eye contact because her face terrified me, plain of emotions but still very beautiful, with its tone, cheek bones, succulent lips and big bright eyes that took on every color and shape of every creature on earth simultaneously. She was everything and nothing, all at once. I wondered if she could feel my heartbeat, sense my fears, or read my thoughts. But then again thought “it’s impossible to read one’s……

LUCY: (smiling) Yes, I can read your thoughts.
ME: (shocked) but that’s impossible.
LUCY: So what is possible then?
ME: I don’t know, it’s all that’s realistic man.
LUCY: So, again, what is realistic?
ME: (spreads arms in confusion) I don’t know, you know, anything that real people do.
LUCY: Mr. Ubuntu, I could ask you who are these real people and what is it that they do, but my efforts would only be futile.
ME: So in other words I’d give you a wrong answer?
LUCY: (looks straight at Ubuntu’s eyes) Mister, just because an answer isn’t exactly what one might have liked to hear doesn’t necessarily make it wrong, as much as you believing that you’re not capable of certain things, you don’t make them impossible.
ME: So who does?
LUCY: No one.
ME: (hesitantly) not even God?
LUCY: (smiling) especially not God.
ME: (almost like talking to himself) But doesn’t God separate the possible from the impossible?
LUCY: No, He doesn’t, nothing does. God said be all you can be, and so what you are now is a reflection of how you, and only you, perceive your own self. Your limitations are of your own doing, and not God’s.
ME: (teasingly) so if I wanted to fly, would I be able to?
LUCY: I don’t know Mr. Ubuntu, would you?
ME: (disappointed) But I thought you had said I can be anything I want to be about a second ago.
LUCY: I cannot tell you what you can or cannot be, that power’s within you. Even if I genuinely believed you could fly, you’d still never be able to unless you believed it too.
ME: (irritated) Can I fly or not Miss Lucy?
LUCY: (firmly) you don’t get really my point Mr. Ubuntu. I’m saying, no one can tell you what you can or cannot be, not even me.
ME: (even more confused now) But I thought…………..

[……..TO BE CONTINUED]

Leave a Reply

