Conversations With Lucy #03

ME: (sits up straight) Okay, I guess there’s no other way to ask you this, are you God?
LUCY: (chuckles) No, I’d say “Hell No” but given today’s topic, I rather not.
Me: So, how do you know for sure that you are not God?
LUCY: (smiles) Because if I were really God, I wouldn’t even have to think about it. I am only human, only a mere reflection of him, like you are.
ME: So he is a He?
LUCY: For argument sake, let’s say He is. I do not know God’s gender, race, and all the other average questions you may ask, but in my opinion, petty things as race and gender really do not matter to God, He is everything, all at once.
ME: Because we’re all made in his reflection?
LUCY: Yes Ubuntu (nodding), because of that.
ME: But, our religions are so different. Why is that?
LUCY: (smiling again) Religions are not God, but a mere interpretation of him. The reason we have so many different religions is, many people interpret “him” in many different ways.
ME: So, which ones are right and which ones aren’t?
LUCY: Honestly, it’s almost impossible to say. Let me tell you this, God is interpreted differently by different people because He reveals himself differently to different people. He came to Moses as a burning tree, and he came in a very different way to Paul.
ME: I get you now, I guess our faith is much weaker than Moses’s, because he never reveals himself to us.
LUCY: That is another mistake we make. We think that when he reveals himself it will be through extraordinary means or a burning tree, and not understand that it might have been through a homeless person that might have smiled at you today.
ME: (excited) Or maybe he reveals himself through my pastor.
LUCY: (with a straight face) Yes, maybe through him as well, as long as you still remember that your pastor is not more of his child than you are, in God’s eyes we are all equal.
ME: Are you also a Christian?
LUCY: I have only used Christianity because of your familiarity with it, but I am hoping you’ll apply these concepts on a much broader scale.
ME: (almost disappointed) Oh, okay. I’m still curious as to which religion is the best.
LUCY: There is no best. God doesn’t have a best side, all his sides are equally best.
ME: (more confused) I think you have lost me there, so do you mean that…………….

[TO BE CONTINUED………]

Leave a Reply

